Calculating the Monetary Value of Your Drowsing Driving Accident Case
In the immediate aftermath of a car crash, you might feel disoriented, confused, scared, and traumatized. Once medical treatment begins, you start receiving billing statements. You could have additional costs, such as repairing your damaged car or purchasing an assistive medical device. Many accident victims can’t afford these expenses and worry about the financial burden they could face.
When you get hurt in a car accident, you can file an insurance claim to recover compensation for your losses. New Jersey is a no-fault car insurance state, meaning you must turn to your insurance company before you can go after the at-fault driver’s.
Personal injury protection (PIP) with a minimum limit of $15,000 is required for all drivers. When you file a claim, you can seek coverage for your medical expenses, out-of-pocket costs, property damage, and lost wages up to the limit on your policy. Once coverage runs out, you could file a claim with the other motorist’s car insurance company.
You could file a liability claim to pursue compensation for multiple losses, such as:
- Medical bills
- Loss of consortium
- Pain and suffering
- Property damage
- Lost wages
- Loss of future earnings
- Emotional distress
The monetary value placed on your case will depend on specific factors. Brach Eichler Injury Lawyers has experience calculating a person’s total losses to determine how much money they should receive from the negligent driver’s insurance company.
Common factors we might use are:
- The type of injury and its severity
- The total cost of medical treatment and other expenses
- The effects of the accident on your quality of life
- The duration of your recovery period
- Any mental or physical limitations from the injury
- The estimated cost of future medical care
- The time you spent away from work
Our ultimate goal is to negotiate an adequate settlement amount so you’re not left with any bills to pay yourself. We can file the insurance claim and locate all crucial evidence to prove someone else caused your injuries. If the insurance company doesn’t want to settle for a fair number, we can file a lawsuit. We’re not afraid to take your case to court and fight for the maximum compensation you deserve.
Possible Compensation in a Lawsuit
When you file a lawsuit, you must comply with a deadline called a statute of limitations. New Jersey has a two-year statute of limitations. That means you must file your lawsuit within two years of the accident date.
A jury will review all details associated with the case and decide if you share blame for the crash. Modified comparative negligence is a law that could diminish the compensation you’re entitled to in a lawsuit. If your total losses are $20,000, but a jury assigns you with 10% fault, you could only obtain up to $18,000. However, if you were more than 50% responsible for the accident, you wouldn’t be allowed to recover any compensation at all.
The Jersey City drowsy driving accident lawyers of Brach Eichler Injury Lawyers are ready to take on your case and fight for the justice you deserve. Our legal team is available 24/7 to take your call and speak with you when you need us the most.
Don’t wait to take legal action against the negligent driver. Call Brach Eichler Injury Lawyers at (201) 583-5765 right now if you suffered injuries in an accident involving a drowsy driver. We can discuss your case during a free consultation and determine your available legal options.